Developing a Fully Inclusive Social Insurance Model

Print page


The Programme for Prosperity and Fairness (PPF) contained a commitment to the establishment of a Working Group to "produce proposals for the development of a fully inclusive social insurance model which would facilitate combining work and family responsibilities in the context of changing working and social patterns".

The Working Group (WG) was first constituted in May 2002 following nominations from the Social Partners. The WG was chaired by the Department of Social and Family Affairs. This WG met on six occasions between May and November 2002 and identified a number of issues for consideration. The Group commenced work in relation to addressing these issues and prepared a draft interim report in November 2002. However, by that time negotiations on a new partnership agreement had commenced (which subsequently emerged as "Sustaining Progress"), and further drafting was suspended until the outcome of those negotiations was known.

However, under the terms of Sustaining Progress, it was agreed to re-establish the WG to continue the earlier work. A new Working Group was convened in July 2003 and received agreement to examine the issues identified by the previous group,with new nominations from the social partners. The WG met on a further seven occasions until June 2004. The members of the working groups established under both the PPF and the SP agreements are listed below.

Membership of Working Group


PPF Group

Sustaining Progress Group

Department of Social and Family Affairs

Anne McManus* - Chair
Carol McGann
Paul Cunningham
* replaced by John Bohan, August 2002

John Bohan - Chair
Paul Cunningham
Martin Finucane*
* replaced by Siobhan Lawlor, January 04

Department of Finance

Dermot Quigley
Tony Carberry

Dermot Quigley
John Fitzpatrick

Employers Organisations

Jackie Harrison, IBEC
Aebhric McGibney, IBEC

Aebhric McGibney, IBEC

Farming Pillar

Con Lucey, IFA
Ciaran Dolan, ICMSA

Con Lucey / Mary Carroll, IFA
Paul Brandon, ICMSA

Trade Unions

Joan Carmichael, ICTU
Rosheen Callender, SIPTU

Joan Carmichael*, ICTU
Rosheen Callender, SIPTU
* replaced by Paula Carey, February 04

Community and Voluntary Pillar

Fr. Sean Healy, CORI
Orla O'Connor, National Women's Council of Ireland

Ray Dooley, Children's Rights Alliance
June Tinsley, INOU

Secretary to Working Group

Michelle Ryan, DSFA

Barbara O'Connor, DSFA

Membership of the group was supplemented on a number of occasions by the following persons:
Aoife Doyle ( IBEC) and Colm McDermott, Elaine Soffe, Leonard Burke, Maeve Farrell and Tom Whelan from DSFA.

Last modified:29/09/2008



 Related Topics


 Application Forms


 Intreo/Local Office Locator

Search for your local office