Ballymun Youth Guarantee Declaration

Print page

In order to increase the employability of young unemployed people and support them into sustainable jobs, Government agencies, local organisations and employers should work together and adopt the good practice principles identified by the Ballymun pilot Youth Guarantee including:

  • The partnership approach involving key stakeholders including relevant Government Departments and agencies, employer and trade union representatives, education and training providers, and local development and youth organisations can realise synergies, capitalises on the expertise of partners and can better identify gaps and solutions.
  • Stakeholders should commit to partnership approaches. Effective partnership arrangements should be maintained, developed and supported as a means of facilitating stakeholders to work collaboratively to secure good outcomes for unemployed youth
  • Young people need to be supported along a pathway to long-term sustainable employment though the provision of appropriate guidance and good quality education, training and work experience opportunities.
  • Education and training provision should support the progression of participants to further education, higher skills and ultimately sustainable employment.
  • State employment, education and training services should consider the views and respond to the needs of young people and employers.
  • Employers should be encouraged to engage in shaping training programmes and providing quality work experience and employment opportunities that are of mutual benefit to young people and business.

This Declaration is signed by the members of the National Steering Group and Local Implementation Group of the Ballymun pilot Youth Guarantee, comprising Ballymun Job Centre/LESN, Ballymun Regional Youth Resource, Ballymun Whitehall Area Partnership, City of Dublin Education and Training Board, the Department of Education and Skills, Department of Jobs, Enterprise and Innovation, Department of Social Protection, Dublin Chamber of Commerce, Dublin City Council, FIT Ltd., Ibec, Irish Congress of Trade Unions, Irish Local Development Network, National Youth Council of Ireland, North Dublin Chamber of Commerce, The Probation Service, and SOLAS.

Last modified:14/04/2015

 Declaration Signatories