Statutory Agencies under the aegis of the Department

Print page


The Citizens Information Board

The Citizens Information Board (CIB) is responsible for supporting the provision of information, advice and advocacy relating to social services and entitlements.

All appointments are made by the Minister and the legislative provisions governing board membership of the CIB are contained in the Comhairle Act 2000 and the Citizens Information Act 2007. The legislation provides that:

  • The Board shall consist of fifteen members;
  • One member of the Board shall be designated as chairperson;
  • The period of membership shall not exceed five years;
  • The members of the Board shall include one officer of the Minister, three members representative of people with disabilities and one member of the staff of the Board;
  • Not less than six members of the Board shall be female and not less than six shall be male.

The legislation also provides that a member of the Board whose period of membership expires by the effluxion of time (passing of five-year term) shall be eligible for re-appointment as a member of the Board. The last appointment to the Board was made in September 2016.

The Pensions Authority (Formerly Pensions Board)

The Pensions Authority is a regulatory body operating under the aegis of the Department of Social Protection and the statutory role of the Authority is to monitor and supervise the operation of the Pensions Act 1990.

Oversight of the Pensions Authority is provided by a three person board. This consists of the following:

  • Ms Jane Williams as Authority chair
  • Ms Anne Vaughan, Deputy Secretary in the Department of Social Protection, who represents the Minister for Social Protection
  • Ms Ann Nolan, Second Secretary in the Department of Finance, who represents the Minister for Finance.

The role CEO of the Pensions Board is now renamed the Pensions Regulator, with Mr Brendan Kennedy continuing in that role.

These changes took effect 6th March 2014.

Social Welfare Tribunal

The Social Welfare Tribunal is a statutory body set up in 1982 to deal with cases where entitlement to Jobseekers Benefit or Jobseekers Assistance is refused due to an involvement in a trade dispute.

The legislation governing the operation of the Social Welfare Tribunal is provided for in Sections 331 to 333 of the Social Welfare (Consolidation) Act, 2005.

The Tribunal consists of a Chairman and four ordinary members, two nominated by the Irish Congress of Trade Unions (ICTU) and two nominated by an organisation representative of employers. All members are appointed by the Minister for Social Protection for a term of three years.

Current Board membership

Last modified:15/02/2017

 Related Topics


 Application Forms